By April 21, 2014 1 Comments Read More →

2014 Writers and Illustrators of the Future Awards

On April 13, the L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards were presented in Los Angeles. Since 1983, the Writers of the Future contest has provided aspiring short story writers with the opportunity to see their work published. The artistic side of this contest was introduced in 1988. The judges, established sf writers and illustrators, led a week-long workshop for the winners, all of whom will see their stories and artwork featured in Volume 30 of the Writers of the Future annual anthology.

Golden Pen Award, Story of the Year

Randy Henderson for “Memories Bleed Beneath the Mask”


Golden Brush Award, Illustrator of the Year

Trevor Smith


Awarded Authors

Liz Colter (CO)

Jessica Eanes (pen name: Anaea Lay) (WI)

Darren Eggett (pen name: Paul Eckheart) (UT)

Amanda Forrest (CO)

Cregg Hardwick (pen name: C. Stuart Hardwick) (TX)

Oleg Kazantsev (IL)

Leena Likitalo of Helsinki (Finland)

Terry Maulhardt (pen name: Terry Madden) (CA)

Kathleen Miller (pen name: K. C. Norton) (PA)

Megan E. O’Keefe (CA)

Shauna O’Meara (Australian Capital Territory)

Randy Henderson (WA)


Awarded Illustrators

Cassandre Bolan (PA)

Adam Brewster (UK)

Vincent-Michael Coviello (MA)

Kirbi Fagan (MI)

Vanessa Golitz (Germany)

Kristie Kim of Raleigh (NC)

Seonhee Lim (NY)

Sarah Webb (AK)

Bernardo Mota (Portugal)

Trevor Smith (AZ)

Andrew Sonea (Canada)

Michael Talbot (MA)



Posted in: Book Awards
Tags: ,

About the Author:

Biz Hyzy is a graduate of Lake Forest College with a BA in English Literature. She is one of Booklist's editorial assistants for the Adult Books department. In the past, she has worked as a bookseller at Half Price Books and as a writing tutor. When she isn’t reading, you can find her swing dancing or playing games.

1 Comment on "2014 Writers and Illustrators of the Future Awards"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Post a Comment