By November 21, 2013 0 Comments Read More →

National Book Award Winners

The National Book Award winners were announced last night, at a gala, star-studded ceremony in—where, else?—New York. Once the cheering had died down, the smoke from the fireworks had cleared, and the rowdy hooligans had been dispersed by baton-wielding mounted police (some literary groupies just don’t take it very well when the authors whose names are tattooed across their knuckles don’t bring home the trophy), four books were left standing, held aloft by a triumphant quartet of authors—who, in a display of outstanding sportsmanship, traded their game-worn jerseys on the spot.


The Good Lord Bird, by James McBride

The Good Lord Bird, by James McBride





The Unwinding, by George Packer

The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America, by George Packer






Incarnadine, by Mary Szybist

Incarnadine, by Mary Szybist





Young People’s Literature

The Thing about Luck, by Cynthia Kadohata

The Thing About Luck, by Cynthia Kadohata





Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters

E. L. Doctorow

Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community

Dr. Maya Angelou



Posted in: Book Awards

About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment