Society of Midland Authors Awards

The winners of the Society of Midland Authors Awards, honoring titles by Midwest authors, were announced last week. Not only are the winners great writers, but we can’t help but puff up our broad Chicago shoulders with some Midwest pride. Find the list of winners below, as well as links to Booklist reviews where available.

Adult Fiction (tie)
When Captain Flint was Still a Good ManWhen Captain Flint Was Still A Good Man, By Nick Dybeck

The World of a Few Minutes Ago, by Jack Driscoll

Adult Nonfiction
You Were Never in Chicago, by Neil Steinberg

Rise to Greatness: Abraham Lincoln and America’s Most Perilous Year, by David Von Drehle

Children’s fiction
Jump Into the Sky, by Shelley Pearsall

Children’s Nonfiction
The Fairy Ring: Or Elsie and Frances Fool the World, by Mary Losure

Sailing Through Cassiopeia, by Dan Gerber



About the Author:

When Sarah Hunter is not reading for her job as senior editor at Booklist, she's baking something tasty or planning trips to the Pacific Northwest. Follow her on Twitter at @SarahBearHunter.

Post a Comment