A Beautiful Mystery, Indeed!

Louise Penny‘s newest title The Beautiful Mystery is number two on the NYT Hardcover Fiction best seller list this week. The award-winning mystery series features the endearing Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sureté du Québec. Gamache is a student of human nature–patient, thoughtful, wise, and madly in love with his librarian wife of 30 years. Most of the series takes place in the quaint Quebec village of Three Pines (kind of the Cabot Cove of Canada–an alarmingly high murder rate for such a small place.) Series regulars include artists Peter and Clara, bookstore owner Myrna, curmudgeonly poet Ruth Zardo, and antique store/bistro owners Gabri and Olivier. And here’s where the series really stands out–these people grieve when a life is lost. Gamache is affected by the pain his presence brings into peoples lives. Which is what makes the bonhomie in this group so attractive–it is not callous, it is how friends survive.

Fans of Julia Spencer-Fleming and Jane Haddam will bring you baskets of cookies in thanks for introducing them to these wonderful mysteries.

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Karen Kleckner Keefe is the director of the Hinsdale (IL) Public Library, a Booklist reviewer, and one of Library Journal's 2009 "Movers and Shakers." Follow her on Twitter at @KarenKleckner.

Post a Comment