2012 Thriller Award Winners

The 2012 Thriller Awards were announced at ThrillerFest‘s “gala awards banquet” last Saturday night. (I’m taking “gala” on faith; I have yet to see a press release touting a “swell,” “swank,” or “pretty nice” banquet.) Are you thrilled by the results? According to the Booklist reviews, Paul McEuen’s debut, Spiral, may have been the best of the lot.

Thrillermaster Award

Jack Higgins, author of the internationally bestselling novels The Eagle Has Landed, The White House Connection, and Day of Reckoning.

Silver Bullet Award

Richard North Patterson, author of The Devil’s Light, In The Name of Honor, The Spire, and 16 other bestselling and critically acclaimed novels.

True Thriller 

Ann Rule, author of 30-New York Times bestsellers, including seminal true-crime account The Stranger Beside Me.

Best Hardcover Novel

11/22/63, by Stephen King

Best Paperback Original

The Last Minute, by Jeff Abbott

Best First Novel

Spiral, by Paul McEuen

Best Short Story

“Half-Lives,” by Tim L. Williams (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment