Always looking for more sexytalk

So,  Karen has already offered read-alikes for Fifty Shades of Grey, but this recent blog post, “I’ll Show You Smut,” from our friend Nanette Donohue, gives an eye-opening look at more titles you can find on your library’s shelf while you languish on the hold list.

She couches her list—a “Dirty Dozen Books that Brevard County Library Hasn’t Removed from Their Collection”—as it as a reprimand to the Florida library where the title was pulled from the collection.

As Donohue puts it, “So Fifty Shades of Grey is too hot for the readers of Brevard County. Okay, whatever. Communities have the right to determine which items to add to their collections based on local standards. But I wondered to myself if they owned books that I would consider hotter than Fifty Shades of Grey (which is pretty much most things with a few sex scenes). I decided to take a look at their online catalog to see if I could find some smutty stuff. I avoided the obvious targets, like nonfiction books about sex (e.g., The Joy of Sex or The Joy of Gay Sex) or boring-ass classic literature with sex scenes (yeah, they own Lady Chatterley’s Lover, but that’s tame by modern standards). I narrowed my list down to twelve authors, titles, and series, but I could find more. Lots, lots more. Go forth, administration of the Brevard County Public Library, and weed! Bowdlerize your collections! Make your library safe for readers!”

We say, use her suggestions as read-alikes, or a display—if you dare.

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Rebecca Vnuk is the editor for Collection Management and Library Outreach at Booklist. She is also the author of 3 reader’s-advisory nonfiction books: Read On…Women’s Fiction (2009), Women’s Fiction: A Guide to Popular Reading Interests (2014), and Women’s Fiction Authors: A Research Guide (2009). Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_RVnuk.

2 Comments on "Always looking for more sexytalk"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

  1. gerardsaylor@hotmail.com' Gerard says:

    A novel by Lorelei James, a well-known author of graphic and non-clinical erotic romance.

    Hah! I’ve been mentioning these books whenever this topic comes up. I spoke to Lori Armstrong (her real name) at Bouchercon and she said the romances easily outsell her mystery and thriller novels.

    Armstrong is a nice gal. I like her. Of course, I tend to like any author that does not tell me to take a hike after 2-3 minutes of my inane conversation.

  2. gerardsaylor@hotmail.com' Gerard says:

    Don’t forget the Slocum westerns. The authors put in some great lines like this:

    To his rigid surprise, Slocum found himself nodding yes, just as her soft, long fingers found the root of his love shaft, then climbed subtly up to grasp his head and cover it, just as his c– load shot forth, making both he and Myra gasp in pleasure.

Post a Comment