By January 16, 2012 0 Comments Read More →

Best Audiobooks of 2011

Fourteen lists featuring audio excellence for adults, teens, and children! I think most everyone has finished sounding off about their favorites, so I’ve compiled links to the top audiobook titles from 2011. There’s more great listening here than ever before – so many fantastic releases from the ever-growing number of audio producers. You’ll find titles to satisfy all ages, in all genres. So start building your buying or borrowing lists now. And if I’ve missed a list, please drop a note in the comments below.

UPDATE: The newest recognition for adult audio: The Listen List compiled by the Reference and User Services Division of the American Library Association.

ALA’s Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production for children’s & YA audio titles.

Booklist’s 2011 Editors’ Choice: http://ala-publishing.informz.net/ala-publishing/archives/archive_2008966.html

AudioFile’s Best Audiobooks of 2011: http://www.audiofilemagazine.com/best_of_2011.html

Library Journal’s Best Media 2011: Audiobooks: http://reviews.libraryjournal.com/2011/12/best-of/best-media/best-media-2011-audiobooks/#_

Publishers Weekly 2011 Listen Up Awards: http://blogs.publishersweekly.com/blogs/ListenUp/?p=1884

Audible.com’s Best of 2011: http://www.audible.com/int/Best_of_2011

Washington Post’s Best Audio Books of 2011: http://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/books/the-best-audio-books-of-2011/2011/11/21/gIQA9yLfiO_story.html

The Horn Book’s Recommended Audiobooks: http://www.hbook.com/2011/12/choosing-books/recommended-books/recommended-audiobooks/

Sound Commentary.com’s Best Audiobooks of 2011: http://soundcommentary.com/issue/january-2012/article/best-audiobooks-of-2011

All About Romance’s Best Romance Audio Bests of 2011: http://www.likesbooks.com/blog/?p=7437#more-7437

ALSC Notable Children’s Recordings: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncr

YALSA Amazing Audiobooks (this includes some 2010 titles): http://www.ala.org/yalsa/audiobooks/2012

And if you feel that children’s book apps are the digital equivalent of an audiobook read-along…

Kirkus Review’s Best Book Apps: http://www.kirkusreviews.com/best-of/2011/book-apps/

The Cybils Book Apps Finalists: http://www.cybils.com/2011-finalists-book-apps.html

 

 

 

Comments

comments

About the Author:

Mary Burkey is an independent library consultant in Columbus (OH). An enthusiastic audiophile, she has served on all four of ALA's audiobook award committees as well as the Audies. In addition to writing the "Voices in My Head" column for Booklist, she is the author of Audiobooks for Youth: A Practical Guide to Sound Literature (ALA, 2013). Follow her on Twitter at @mburkey.

Post a Comment