Awards Round Up: Locus, Christopher, Independent Publisher Awards

under-heavenThere are five contenders in the Fantasy novel category for the 2011 Locus Awards presented by the  Locus Science Fiction Foundation:

Under Heaven, by Guy Gavriel Kay

Kraken, by China Miéville

Who Fears Death, by Nnedi Okorafor

The Fuller Memorandum, by Charles Stross

The Sorcerer’s House, by Gene Wolfe

Winners in fifteen categories, including science fiction novel, First novel, and novella will be announced in Seattle during the Science Fiction Awards Weekend.  See the full list of nominees here.

Russell Freedman’s Lafayette and the American Revolutionwas one of many 2011 Christopher award winners. The award honors media that “affirm the highest values of the human spirit.” Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption also scooped up an honor at the ceremony held in New York. For the complete awards announcement visit the Christopher Awards site.a-blue-so-dark

There were many ties for the 2011 Independent Publisher Awards. In the literary fiction category The Iron Will of Shoeshine Cats, by Hesh Kestin and Witches on the Road Tonight, by Sheri Holman tied for the gold medal, while A Blue So Dark, by Holly Schindler and The Absolute Value of -1, by Steve Brezenoff  tied for the gold in the Juvenile/Young Adult Fiction category. View all 346 gold, silver, and bronze medal winners at the Independent Publisher website.



About the Author:

Post a Comment