Writers of the Future Winners

Most of the awards we post here on Likely Stories are for book-length works of fiction and nonfiction—and most of the winners are not first-time authors. But there are some contests for beginners, too. The L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future contest is designed to give an early-career boost to aspiring sf authors and artists. Every quarter, winners are chosen via blind submission; every year, the quarterly winners are given a week of instruction, recognition at a lavish award ceremony, and a chance to win top prize (which includes a check for $5,000). All of the finalists are included in the annual Writers of the Future anthology. The lists of judges—author and illustrator—include a veritable who’s-who of science fiction.

Writers of the Future Awards

Author Winners

D. A. D’Amico, for “Vector Victoria” (Massachusetts)
Brennan Harvey, for “The Truth, from a Lie of Convenience” (California)
Ryan Harvey, for “An Acolyte of Black Spires” (California)
Van Aaron Hughes, for “The Dualist” (Colorado)
Patty Jansen, for “This Peaceful State of War” (New South Wales, Australia)
R. P. L. Johnson, for “In Apprehension, How Like a God” (Victoria, Australia)
Keffy R. M. Kehrli, for “Bonehouse” (Washington)
Geir Lanesskog, for “Sailing the Sky Sea” (Washington)
Jeffrey Lyman, for “The Unreachable Voices of Ghosts” (New York)
Ben Mann, for “Unfamiliar Territory” (Australia)
Patrick O’Sullivan (“Maddy Dune’s First and Only Spelling Bee”) (Virginia)
Adam Perin, for “Medic!” (Virginia)

Illustrator Winners

Ryan Downing (South Africa)
Frederick Edwards (Virginia)
Vivian Friedel (Texas)
Gregory J. Gunther (Michigan)
Scott Frederick Hargrave (Indiana)
Fred Jordan (California)
Joey Jordan (Washington)
Meghan Muriel (Texas)
Dustin D. Panzino (New Hampshire)
Nico Photos (California)
Irvin Rodriguez (New York)
Erik Jean Solem (California)

Gold Award, Story of the Year

Richard Johnson for “In Apprehension, How Like a God”

Gold Award, Illustrator of the Year

Irvin Rodriguez

Our own Keir Graff was on hand to present two awards: the Gold Award for Illustrator of the Year and also a special commendation recognizing the talent the awards have nurtured—many have gone on to be favorably reviewed in the pages of Booklist.



Posted in: Book Awards
Tags: ,

About the Author:

Post a Comment