One Crazy Summer Wins Scott O'Dell Award

once-crazy-summerThe Scott O’ Dell award committee, which includes Booklist’s own Laura Tillotson, chose One Crazy Summer as the 2011 winner. The annual $5000 Award is given for a distinguished work of historical fiction for young people, published by a U. S. publisher; the setting must be South, Central, or North America, and the author must be a U.S. citizen. Rita Williams-Garcia’s novel, set in 1968 Oakland, CA amid the Black Panther Movement, is also a 2010 Books for Youth Editors’ Choice pick. Check out the rest of the list here.



About the Author:

1 Comment on "One Crazy Summer Wins Scott O'Dell Award"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Inbound Links

  1. The Librarian Next Door | January 8, 2011

Post a Comment