Audie Awards Finalists

Top contenders for Audiobook of the Year and  Distinguished Achievement in Production awards from the Audio Publishers Association (click here for the complete list of Audie nominees):

APA Announces Nominees for Most Prestigious Audies Awards
Gary Dell’Abate, Howard Stern Show Executive Producer and Avid Audiobook Listener,
to Host Audies Gala on May 25

The Audio Publishers Association (APA) has announced three Audie finalists for the prestigious Audiobook of the Year Award and five finalists for the Distinguished Achievement in Production Award. The winners will be announced at the Audies Gala awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 25, 2010, at The Museum of the City of New York in New York City.

The association will welcome Gary Dell’Abate, Executive Producer for the Howard Stern Show on SiriusXM, as this year’s host. An avid audiobook listener, Dell’Abate also contributed to the narration of comedian Artie Lange’s hit audiobook, Too Fat to Fish, last year.

The three titles that are in the running for Audiobook of the Year are: Nelson Mandela’s Favorite African Folktales, narrated by a full cast including Samuel L. Jackson, Helen Mirren, Don Cheadle and Alan Rickman; The Time of My Life, written and read by Patrick Swayze; and The Word of Promise Audio Bible, performed by a full cast of over 600 actors, including narration by Michael York.All three titles are distinguished by excellence in production as well as by their ability to create new interest in the audiobook format through creative and innovative marketing.

The five titles that have been selected to compete for the Distinguished Achievement in Production award are: Graceling by Kristen Cashore, narrated by David Baker and a full cast; The Help, by Kathryn Stockett, narrated by Cassandra Campbell, Jenna Lamia, Octavia Spencer, and Bahni Turpin; The Maltese Falcon, by Dashiell Hammett, dramatized for audio by Yuri Rasovsky, narrated by a full cast including Edward Herrmann and Sandra Oh; Nelson Mandela’s Favorite African Folktales, narrated by a full cast including Samuel L. Jackson, Helen Mirren, Don Cheadle and Alan Rickman; and The Screwtape Letters, by C.S. Lewis, performed by Andy Serkis and a full cast. This award recognizes a production that represents the best the format has to offer in listening excellence.

“Each of these finalists should be celebrated for bringing such wonderful stories to life,” said Ellen Myrick, chair of the Audies judges. “This eclectic group of titles represents a broad range of audiobook experiences and includes some of the most entertaining productions and performances the judges have seen in years.”

Click here to see the full press release including comments and insight into the selection of these finalists from this year’s judges.



About the Author:

Mary Burkey is an independent library consultant in Columbus (OH). An enthusiastic audiophile, she has served on all four of ALA's audiobook award committees as well as the Audies. In addition to writing the "Voices in My Head" column for Booklist, she is the author of Audiobooks for Youth: A Practical Guide to Sound Literature (ALA, 2013). Follow her on Twitter at @mburkey.

Post a Comment