Costa Category Winners Announced

brooklynColm Toibin’s win in the Costa Awards’ novel category was summed up by The Guardian this way:

…one of the most highly regarded Irish writers of his generation, loved by his readers and admired by his peers, but when it comes to major book prizes he is something of a bridesmaid. He so often nearly wins them but doesn’t – until, that is, tonight when he was named winner of the Costa novel of the year award.  (“Colm Tóibín wins Costa prize to at last take first major book award,” by Marc Brown, The Guardian)

The overall winner of the Coast award will be announced January 26th. Clearly the favorite to win, Toibin’s Brooklyn is up against the following category winners:

Beauty, by Raphael Selbourne (first novel)

The Strangest Man, by Graham Farmelo  (biography)

A Scattering, by Christopher Reid (poetry)

The Ask and the Answer, by Patrick Ness (children’s) 



Posted in: Book Awards

About the Author:

1 Comment on "Costa Category Winners Announced"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Post a Comment