By September 24, 2009 0 Comments Read More →

Awards Round-Up

Over the last week quite a number of books received awards. Here’s the best of best:

The 2009 NAIBA Books of the Year Prize winners are:

A Reliable Wife, by Robert Goolrick


Hurry Down Sunshine, by Michael Greenberg

Trade Paperback Original

Buffalo Lockjaw, by Greg Ames

Picture Book

The Curious Garden, by Peter Brown

Children’s Literature

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman

Paul Auster (Invisible, 2009) took home the NAIBA legacy Award.

The Frank O’Connor Short Story Award, the richest short story prize at £30,000, went to Love Begins in Winter, by Simon Van Booy.

Two new prizes crowned their inaugural winners:

Love and Obstacles, by Aleksandar Hemon won the first-ever $50,000 St. Francis College Literary Prize.  The aim of the prize is to recognize and support mid-career writers.

 The biannual Gene E. & Adele R. Malott Prize committe named The Last Flight of the Scarlet Macaw: One Woman’s Fight to Save the World’s Most Beautiful Bird the victor, earning author Bruce Barcott  $1,500, and $1,000 will be donated to his subject’s cause.

Last but not least, the Giller longlist has been announced and it’s dominated by women, including Margaret Atwood. Only two of the twelve nominees are men. To see the complete list please visit the Giller Prize website.



Posted in: Book Awards

About the Author:

Post a Comment