Bog Child wins Carnegie Medal; Locus Winners Announced

yo-dowd-bLast week, the UK’s Carnegie Medal for Literature (not to be confused with that other Carnegie Medal) was awarded posthumously to Siobhan Dowd, who died of cancer three months after Bog Child was completed. With only three novels under her belt and a fourth on the way, Solace of the Road (to be released Oct. 2009),  The London Eye Mystery (2008) and A Swift Pure Cry (2007), Dowd was relatively new to world of children’s lit, leaving many to grieve the loss of an author just getting started. However it’s clear that illness did not stand in the way of her impeccable writing. Librarian Joy Court, chair of the judging panel said the following of Dowd:

“To be able to write like that when she was going through what she was going through is just astonishing – the sheer beauty of the language, the descriptions of the environment; she has such an amazing sense of place.” (“Carnegie medal posthumously awarded to Siobhan Dowd,” by Alison Flood, the Guardian)

In other news, the Locus Award for Science Fiction winners were announced today:

Science fiction novel

Anathem, by Neal Stephenson

Fantasy novel

Lavinia, by Ursula K. Le Guin

First novel

Singularity’s Ring, by Paul Melko

Young adult book

The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman


Pretty Monsters, by Kelly Link


Pump Six, by Paolo Bacigalupi

Short Story

“Exhalation”  (Eclipse Two), by Ted Chiang


The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Fifth Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois 


Pump Six and Other Stories, by Paolo Bacigalupi

Non-Fiction/Art Book

Coraline: The Graphic Novel, by Neil Gaiman; adapted and illustrated by P. Craig Russell



About the Author:

Post a Comment