I always find the Edgar Award nominees a rich field to plow for likely titles for a crime or mystery book discussion.  Last night, MWA announced this year’s winners (and here they are):

Best Novel

Blue Heaven by C.J. Box (St. Martin’s Minotaur)


Missing by Karin Alvtegen (Felony & Mayhem Press)

Sins of the Assassin by Robert Ferrigno (Simon & Schuster – Scribner)

The Price of Blood by Declan Hughes (HarperCollins – William Morrow)

The Night Following by Morag Joss (Random House – Delacorte Press)

Curse of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz (Simon & Schuster)


Best First Novel By An American Author

The Foreigner by Francie Lin (Picador)


The Kind One by Tom Epperson (Five Star, div of Cengage)

Sweetsmoke by David Fuller (Hyperion)

Calumet City by Charlie Newton (Simon & Schuster – Touchstone)

A Cure for Night by Justin Peacock (Random House – Doubleday)


Best Paperback Original

China Lake by Meg Gardiner (New American Library – Obsidian Mysteries)


The Prince of Bagram Prison by Alex Carr (Random House Trade)

Money Shot by Christa Faust (Hard Case Crime)

Enemy Combatant by Ed Gaffney (Random House – Dell)

The Cold Spot by Tom Piccirilli (Random House – Bantam)


Best Fact Crime

American Lightning: Terror, Mystery, the Birth of Hollywood, and the Crime of the Century by Howard Blum (Crown Publishers)


For The Thrill of It: Leopold, Loeb and the Murder that Shocked Chicago by Simon Baatz (HarperCollins)

Havana Nocturne: How the Mob Owned Cuba and Then Lost It To The Revolution by T.J. English (HarperCollins – William Morrow)

The Man Who Made Vermeers: Unvarnishing the Legend of Master Forger Hans van Meegeren by Jonathan Lopez (Harcourt)

The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher by Kate Summerscale (Walker & Company)

For a complete list of all the categories winners and nominees, visit http://www.theedgars.com/nominees.html



About the Author:

Gary Niebuhr is the author of Make Mine a Mystery (2003), Caught up in Crime (2009), and other readers' guides to mystery and detective fiction. He was a Booklist contributor from 2008-2014.

Post a Comment