Archive for May, 2009

Do Prostitutes Exist in Islamic Cairo?
By May 31, 2009 1 Comments Read More →

Do Prostitutes Exist in Islamic Cairo?

A thirty-year-old Swiss author obsessed with finding prostitutes in Egypt goes on several uncomfortable searches through the sexually-repressed, Islamic city of Cairo in Florian Zeller’s short French novel, The Fascination of Evil, coming out in English translation next month from Pushkin Press. Martin Millet has been flown to Cairo to speak at a book fair, […]

Posted in: Book Groups, Book News
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins: Worth the Wait

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins: Worth the Wait

Cindy: It’s very exciting to have had an early peek at Catching Fire (Scholastic, Sept. 1, 2009) but that just means the wait for book three will seem even longer! One thing I know for sure, it will be worth the wait, whether you are a lucky soul in the same boat, or if you […]

2009 Audies Awards

2009 Audies Awards

What a fantastic evening! The 2009 Audies Award ceremony was a marvelous evening of conviviality, ending with the announcement of the Audio Publishers Association’s best titles of the year.  Here’s a recap of the winners: Audiobook of the Year: The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman, narrated by Neil Gaiman (HarperAudio) Distinguished Achievement in Production: Curse […]

Posted in: Audiobooks, Book Awards
Hans Christian Andersen and the Olympics

Hans Christian Andersen and the Olympics

In case you’ve been living in a hole (or buried under a pile of work like me), maybe you haven’t heard about the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award nominees for the U.S. This award is for an author or illustrator’s complete body of works, and the selection process sort of resembles how the Olympics committee chooses the next city […]

Posted in: Books and Authors
For fans of Frog & Toad

For fans of Frog & Toad

I’m taking a break from the fantastic day at the Audio Publishers Association’s Conference, and found this great story by Sue Corbett from Publishers Weekly. A rare book dealer found handcrafted books by Arnold Lobel that featured Frog & Toad a decade before the beloved F&T books were published! And Lobel’s daughter Adrianne has put […]

Posted in: Audiobooks
Pre-Atomic Post-Apocalypse

Pre-Atomic Post-Apocalypse

Great list on Listverse: “15 Influential Early Works of Apocalyptic Fiction” (via American Libraries Direct). It’s somewhat similar to the “End of the World Literature List” from AbeBooks, with the distinction that THESE post-apocalyptic works were all written pre-Atomic Age; both lists include earlier works than my “Core Collection: Before and After The Road” (although I was the only […]

Posted in: Book Lists
Wink: The Ninja Who Wanted to be Noticed by J. C. Phillipps

Wink: The Ninja Who Wanted to be Noticed by J. C. Phillipps

Cindy: It’s fabulous to have a mandate to expand my reading to include preschool and elementary level after years of reading primarily for middle school. Now, when a review for a book with a title like this one, Wink: The Ninja Who Wanted to be Noticed (Viking, 2009) catches my eye, I feel it’s my […]

Location Location Location

Location Location Location

In the book groups I attend, we’ve developed such a routine that our members sit in the same chair at every meeting. Woe to the newbie who parks her carcass in a spot that’s TAKEN! For the most part, I think these routines are a good thing: they show a level of familiarity and comfort […]

Posted in: Book Groups
Light and Airy and Discussable?

Light and Airy and Discussable?

Next week my book group will be meeting to discuss The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett. After reading Bennett’s delightful, enchanting novella, I cannot help but wonder if such an entertaining confection of a story will be discussable. What makes a book discussable has been pondered on this blog before. Often groups bemoan having to […]

Posted in: Book Groups
T.A. Barron: Not Insane!

T.A. Barron: Not Insane!

In my interview with fantasy scribe T. A. Barron, he tells how, when he quit his venture capital job to write books, a partner tried to refer him to a therapist. Many striving writers face similar reactions when they make the plunge, and no wonder: it can be a quixotic quest, and all too often […]