Howe and Mlinko Win Ruth Lilly Prize

Fanny Howe, author of five novels and many books of poetry (including Gone, reviewed by Donna Seaman), has been recognized by the Poetry Foundation for a lifetime of achievement. The Ruth Lilly Prize is $100,000.

But the real story is that the critics get love, too. Ange Milinko, a poetry critic, earned $10,000 for her work. The Poetry foundation spoke of her in glowing terms:

“From Sappho to the Language poets, from Nicolas of Cusa to The Brady Bunch, Ange Mlinko’s criticism is brilliantly wide-ranging; it is eclectic and astringent yet always lucid and generous. We are pleased to recognize a young critic whose distinctive sharp wit and formidable power have helped revitalize the art of writing about poetry.”



Posted in: Book Awards
Tags: ,

About the Author:

1 Comment on "Howe and Mlinko Win Ruth Lilly Prize"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Keir says:

    Money paid to critics is so rare and valuable that it should be calculated at historical rates. According to, $10,000 in 1959 would equal $73,095.88 today. Well done, Ms. Milinko!

Post a Comment