2009 Indies Choice Book Awards Finalists

The American Booksellers Association chose the finalists for their 2009 Indies Choice Book Awards. And the nominees are:

Best Indie Buzz Book (Fiction)
City of Thieves, by David Benioff (Viking)
The Given Day, by Dennis Lehane (Morrow)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows (Dial)
Netherland, by Joseph O’Neill (Pantheon)
People of the Book, by Geraldine Brooks (Viking)
Unaccustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri (Knopf)

Best Conversation Starter (Nonfiction)

American Buffalo, by Steven Rinella (Spiegel & Grau)
The Forever War, by Dexter Filkins (Knopf)
Hurry Down Sunshine, by Michael Greenberg (Other Press)
A Voyage Long and Strange, by Tony Horwitz (Holt)
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, by Haruki Murakami (Knopf)
The Wordy Shipmates, by Sarah Vowell (Riverhead)

Best Author Discovery (Debut)
Child 44, by Tom Rob Smith (Grand Central)
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson (Knopf)
Mudbound, by Hillary Jordan (Algonquin)
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, by David Wroblewski (Ecco)
The Story of Forgetting, by Stefan Merrill Block (Random House)
White Tiger, by Aravind Adiga (Free Press)

Best Indie Young Adult Buzz Book (Fiction)

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore (HMH)
The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic)
Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow (Tor)
My Most Excellent Year, by Steve Kluger (Dial)
Savvy, by Ingrid Law (Dial)

Best New Picture Book
Bats at the Library, by Brian Lies (Houghton Mifflin)
Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken, by Kate DiCamillo & Harry Bliss (HarperCollins)
Monkey and Me, by Emily Gravett (Simon & Schuster)
The Pout Pout Fish, by Deborah Diesen & Dan Hanna (FSG)
Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes, by Mem Fox & Helen Oxenbury (Harcourt)
Wave, by Suzi Lee (Chronicle)

Other categories include “Most Engaging Author,” and three titles will be inducted into the “Picture Book” hall of fame. Booksellers have until March 31st to cast their ballots.



Posted in: Book Awards

About the Author:

Post a Comment