And the Awards Go To…

In case you aren’t in Denver or missed the live webcast this morning, the winners of some of ALA’s most prestigious awards have been announced. And the awards go to:

Newbery Medal

The Graveyard Book, written by Neil Gaiman & illustrated by Dave McKean (HarperCollins)

Caldecott Medal

The House in the Night, written by Susan Marie Swanson & illustrated by Beth Krommes (Houghton)

To see the full list of 2009 Newbery Honor and Caldecott Honor titles, click here.

Printz Award

Jellicoe Road, by Melina Marchetta (HarperTeen)

To see the full list of the 2009 Printz Honor titles, click here.

Coretta Scott King Award

We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball, written & illustrated by Kadir Nelson (Hyperion/Jump at the Sun)

To see the full list of the 2009 Coretta Scott King Honor titles, click here.

Odyssey Award

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Recorded Books)

To see the full list of the 2009 Odyssey Honor titles, click here.

Update: For a full list of all the awards and honors announced at Midwinter, including the Pura Belpré, Alex, and brand-new William C. Morris awards, click here.



About the Author:

Post a Comment