No Sex, Please, We’re British


It’s literary award season, and here’s one you might not have heard of: the Literary Review Bad Sex in Fiction award.  Not bad books, just bad sex in sometimes very good books. Established by Auberon Waugh and presented by the Literary Review since 1993, the award is intented to “gently” persuade authors and publishers not to include “unconvincing, perfunctory, embarrassing, or redundant passages of a sexual nature in otherwise sound literary novels.”  Here’s the shortlist:

James Buchan for The Gate of Air
Simon Montefiore for Sashenka
John Updike for The Widows of Eastwick
Kathy Lette for To Love, Honour and Betray
Alastair Campbell for All in the Mind
Rachel Johnson for Shire Hell
Isabel Fonseca for Attachment
Ann Allestree for Triptych of a Young Wolf
Russell Banks for The Reserve
Paulo Coelho for Brida

The award will be presented on November 25 at London’s In and Out Club.



About the Author:

Mary Ellen Quinn is the author of the Historical Dictionary of Librarianship (2014), the former editor of Reference Books Bulletin, and a long-time contributing writer to Booklist.

Post a Comment