By January 28, 2008 0 Comments Read More →

Kennedy Wins the Costa

A. L. Kennedy (Paradise, 2005; Indelible Acts, 2003) has won the Costa Book of the Year award (you remember the Costa, it used to be the Whitbread) for her fifth novel, Day (Jonathan Cape, 2007).

Taking a quick look at the author’s site, I found myself charmed by her reviews of her reviews. Not for Day, alas, but for Paradise and others:

If you are a reviewer and your work appears here, take it as a compliment. Or take it as a minute exposure to the delightful "being reviewed" experience. The reviews are categorised as follows:
Good – reviews which give the impression the book is good.
Bad – reviews which give the impression that the book is bad.
Silly – reviews which are not really terribly well written, or informative. Reviews are shown to help readers decide if they should read a book and as a small comment on the state of literary reviewing.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment