By January 18, 2008 0 Comments Read More →

2008 Edgar Nominees

The 2008 Edgar Nominees have been announced.

Best Novel

Christine Falls, by Benjamin Black (Holt)
Priest, by Ken Bruen (St. Martin’s Minotaur)
The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)
Soul Patch, by Reed Farrel Coleman (Bleak House)
Down River, by John Hart (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Best First Novel By An American Author

Missing Witness, by Gordon Campbell (Morrow)
In the Woods, by Tana French (Viking)
Snitch Jacket, by Christopher Goffard (Rookery)
Head Games, by Craig McDonald (Bleak House)
Pyres, by Derek Nikitas (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Best Paperback Original

Queenpin, by Megan Abbott (Simon & Schuster)
Blood of Paradise, by David Corbett (Random House/Mortalis)
Cruel Poetry, by Vicki Hendricks (Serpent’s Tail)
Robbie’s Wife, by Russell Hill (Hard Case Crime)
Who Is Conrad Hirst? by Kevin Wignall (Simon & Schuster)

Best Critical/Biographical

The Triumph of the Thriller: How Cops, Crooks and Cannibals Captured Popular Fiction, by Patrick Anderson (Random)
A Counter-History of Crime Fiction: Supernatural, Gothic, Sensational, by Maurizio Ascari (Macmillan)
Deviance in Contemporary Crime Fiction, by Christiana Gregoriou (Macmillan)
Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters, by Jon Lellenberg, Daniel Stashower and Charles Foley (Penguin)
Chester Gould: A Daughter’s Biography of the Creator of Dick Tracy, by Jean Gould O’Connell (McFarland)

Best Fact Crime

The Birthday Party, by Stanley Alpert (Putnam)
Reclaiming History: The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy, by Vincent Bugliosi (Norton)
Chasing Justice: My Story of Freeing Myself After Two Decades on Death Row for a Crime I Didn’t Commit, by Kerry Max Cook (Morrow)
Relentless Pursuit: A True Story of Family, Murder, and the Prosecutor Who Wouldn’t Quit, by Kevin Flynn (Putnam)
Sacco & Vanzetti: The Men, The Murders and the Judgment of Mankind by Bruce Watson (Viking)

Best Short Story

“The Catch,” from Still Waters, by Mark Ammons (Level Best)
“Blue Note,” from Chicago Blues, by Stuart M. Kaminsky (Bleak House)
“Hardly Knew Her,” from Dead Man’s Hand, by Laura Lippman (Harcourt)
“The Golden Gopher,” Los Angeles Noir, by Susan Straight (Akashic)
“Uncle,” from A Hell of a Woman, by Daniel Woodrell (Busted Flush)

Best Young Adult

Rat Life, by Tedd Arnold (Dial/Sleuth)
Diamonds in the Shadow, by Caroline B. Cooney (Delacorte)
Touching Snow, by M. Sindy Felin (Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing – Atheneum Books for Young Readers)
Blood Brothers, by S.A. Harazin (Delacorte)
Fragments, by Jeffry W. Johnston (Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse)

Best Juvenile

The Name of This Book is Secret, by Pseudonymous Bosch (Little, Brown)
Shadows on Society Hill, by Evelyn Coleman (American Girl)
Deep and Dark and Dangerous, by Mary Downing Hahn (Clarion)
The Night Tourist, by Katherine Marsh (Hyperion)
Sammy Keyes and the Wild Things, by Wendelin Van Draanen (Knopf)

Best Play

If/Then, by David Foley (International Mystery Writers’ Festival)
Panic, by Joseph Goodrich (International Mystery Writers’ Festival)
Books, by Stuart M. Kaminsky (International Mystery Writers’ Festival)

Best Television Episode Teleplay

“It’s Alive,” Dexter, by Daniel Cerone (Showtime)
“Yahrzeit,” Waking the Dead, by Declan Croghan & Barbara Machin (BBC America)
“Pie-Lette,” Pushing Daisies, by Bryan Fuller (ABC/Warner Bros Television)
“Senseless,” Law & Order: Criminal Intent, by Julie Martin & Siobhan Byrne O’Connor (Wolf Films/NBC Universal)
“Pilot,” Burn Notice, by Matt Nix (USA Network/Fox Television Studios)

Best Motion Picture Screen Play

Eastern Promises, by Steven Knight (Focus Features)
The Lookout, by Scott Frank (Miramax)
Michael Clayton, by Tony Gilroy (Warner Bros. Pictures)
No Country for Old Men, by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, based on the book by Cormac McCarthy (Miramax)
Zodiac, by James Vanderbilt, based on the book by Robert Graysmith (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

“The Catch,” from Still Waters, by Mark Ammons (Level Best)
The Simon & Schuster – Mary Higgins Clark Award

In Cold Pursuit, by Sarah Andrews (St. Martin’s Minotaur)
Wild Indigo, by Sandi Ault (Penguin/Berkley Prime Crime)
Inferno, by Karen Harper (Harlequin/MIRA)
The First Stone, by Judith Kelman (Penguin/Berkley Prime Crime)
Deadman’s Switch, by Barbara Seranella (St. Martin’s Minotaur)




About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment