By October 29, 2007 0 Comments Read More →

Guantanamo and Goldman Sachs

Gotcha with that headline, didn’t I? A couple of award updates, the first one fairly late, the second one only a tiny bit late.

Dan Fesperman’s The Prisoner of Guantanamo (Knopf) has won the International Association of Crime Writers2006 Hammett Prize. The other nominees were:

Ghost Dancer, by John Case (Ballantine)
Dark Companion, by Jim Nisbet (Dennis McMillan)
The Crimes of Jordan Wise, by Bill Pronzini (Walker)
Four Kinds of Rain, by Robert Ward (St. Martin’s)

Hmm…reading all these reviews (and having written one of them), I’m guessing that Booklist reviewers might have offered an entirely different set of finalists.

And William Cohan’s The Last Tycoons has won the 2007 Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award. (I agree with you: the name of the prize is far too short.) From–where else?–the Financial Times (“Lazard history takes FT book award,” by Andrew Hill):

The Last Tycoons, a "vivid" account of the tumultuous evolution of Lazard, the investment bank, has narrowly beaten Alan Greenspan’s The Age of Turbulence to win the 2007 Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award.

William Cohan’s high-octane history of the "the world’s most elite and enigmatic investment bank" was awarded the £30,000 prize at a gala dinner on Thursday night in London.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment