By September 13, 2007 0 Comments Read More →

Batuman, Braunstein, Ekiss, Garcia, Grotz, and Goddard Jones Win Jaffes

I don’t usually link to many awards for up-and-coming writers, in part because the writers often don’t yet have any books I can link to. But what the heck, the six emerging women writers who have won the 2007 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards will have books before you know it, and we call all look back and say, “Remember when they were merely emerging writers? How nice to see them fully emerged, looking quite comfortable in an air- and marketing-based environment.”

(And it’s not as if I can’t link to Rona Jaffe’s The Room-Mating Season [2003].)

The women are Elif Batuman, Sarah Braunstein, Robin Ekiss, Alma García, Jennifer Grotz, and Holly Goddard Jones. You can see bios and headshots here.

And what, pray tell, are the Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards?

In recognition of the special contributions women writers make to our culture and society, The Rona Jaffe Foundation is giving its thirteenth annual Writers’ Awards under a program that identifies and supports women writers of exceptional talent. The emphasis is on those in the early stages of their writing careers. This unique program offers grants to writers of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry to make writing time available and provide assistance for such specific purposes as child care, research and related travel costs.

It’s not the mad bank that the strictly poetry awards hand out, but $25K will buy anyone a lot of writing time.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment