Lucille Clifton Wins the Ruth Lilly

Lucille Clifton has won the 2007 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. The Poetry Foundation site has some good links — actual poems and an interview, too. For those who don’t follow the glitzy poetry scene, the Ruth Lilly “honors a living U.S. poet whose lifetime accomplishments warrant extraordinary recognition.” Furthermore:

Established in 1986 and presented annually by the Poetry Foundation, the award is one of the most prestigious given to American poets, and at $100,000 it is one of the nation’s largest literary honors.

If you ask me, a poetry award needs to hand out $100k before it’s even taken seriously.

Links to reviews of Clifton’s work? Check.

Mercy. 2004. BOA, $22 (1-929918-54-2).

Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems, 1988-2000. 2000. BOA, hardcover, $25 (1-880238-87-X).

The Terrible Stories. 1996. BOA, $20 (1-88023-836-5).

The Book of Light. 1993. Copper Canyon, $21 (1-55659-051-2).




About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment