By April 27, 2007 0 Comments Read More →

King King of the Edgars

The winners of the 2007 Edgar Awards have been announced. Not only that, statuettes have been given to the winners.

Best Novel

The Janissary Tree, by Jason Goodwin (Farrar)

Best First Novel by an American Author

The Faithful Spy, by Alex Berenson (Random)

Best Paperback Original

Snakeskin Shamisen, by Naomi Hirahara (Bantam/Delta)

Best Fact Crime

Manhunt: The 12-Day Chase for Lincoln’s Killer, by James L. Swanson (Morrow)

Best Critical/Biographical

The Science of Sherlock Holmes: From Baskerville Hall to the Valley of Fear, by E. J. Wagner (Wiley)

Best Short Story

“The Home Front,” from Death Do Us Part, by Charles Ardai (Little, Brown)

Best Juvenile

Room One: A Mystery or Two, by Andrew Clements (Simon & Schuster)

Best Young Adult

Buried, by Robin Merrow MacCready (Dutton)

Best Play

Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure, by Steven Dietz (Arizona Theatre Company)

Best Television Episode Teleplay

Life on Mars, Episode 1, by Matthew Graham (BBC America)

Best Television Feature/Mini-Series Teleplay

The Wire, Season 4, by Ed Burns, Kia Corthron, Dennis Lehane, David Mills, Eric Overmyer, George Pelecanos, Richard Price, David Simon & William F. Zorzi (Home Box Office)

Best Motion Picture Screenplay

The Departed, by William Monahan (Warner Bros.)

And Stephen King, natch, was inducted as a Grand Master. Publishers Weekly (“Edgar Salutes the King,” by Dick Donahue) has the, ahem, “deets.”

My only quibble? I was rooting for Patrick Neate’s City of Tiny Lights in the Paperback Original category. But, ahem, “anywho,” wish I’d been there.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment