Gerrard Head-Butts Pelé

And they just keep coming. The 2007 British Book Awards finally bring the famous “Three G’s” — John Grisham, Ricky Gervais, and Steven Gerrard — together. It’s about time. If only they had all three been there.

Lifetime Achievement Award

John Grisham

Best Read of the Year

The Interpretation of Murder, by Jed Rubenfeld (Holt)

Author of the Year

The God Delusion, by Richard Dawkins (Houghton)

Biography of the Year

The Sound of Laughter, by Peter Kay (Century)

Book of the Year

The Dangerous Book for Boys, by Conn Iggulden & Hal Iggulden (Collins)

Children’s Book of the Year

Flanimals of the Deep, by Ricky Gervais (Faber & Faber)

Crime Thriller of the Year

The Naming of the Dead, by Ian Rankin (Little, Brown)

Newcomer of the Year

The Island, by Victoria Hislop (Headline Review)

Popular Fiction Award

Anybody Out There? by Marian Keyes (Morrow)

Sports Book of the Year

Gerrard: My Autobiography, by Steven Gerrard (Transworld)

TV & Film Book of the Year

The Devil Wears Prada, by Lauren Weisberger,

Writer of the Year

Wish I Was Here, by Jackie Kay (Picador)

For the complete, endless list of award sponsors, click here. Or better yet, don’t. The Independent has a wrapup with a headline that says it all (“Gervais triumphs over Pratchett in British Book Awards,” by Louise Jury) — yet goes on anyway:

Gervais beat established writers including Geraldine McCaughrean and Terry Pratchett to take the children’s book of the year honour with Flanimals of the Deep, the third in the series he has produced with the illustrator Rob Steen. Gervais accepted his award live on stage in Ipswich. “That’s fantastic … it’s the first one for my literary outputs,” he said, admitting his work had been described as “books about bollocks with eyes drawn on them”.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

Post a Comment