By September 26, 2006 1 Comments Read More →

Haruki Murakami Wins the Frank O'Connor

From the Guardian Unlimited:

Haruki Murakami has won the second Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award for Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, his third collection of short stories to be published in English.

The €35,000 (£23,000) prize, which is awarded to new collections published in English during the last 12 months, is the world’s richest short story prize.

Most short-story writers, by the way, are compensated with two free copies of the journal in which the story was published. But sometimes they get one copy.



About the Author:

Keir Graff is Executive Editor of Booklist Publications and the author of five books. His most recent is the middle-grade novel, The Other Felix (2011). Follow him on Twitter at @Booklist_Keir.

1 Comment on "Haruki Murakami Wins the Frank O'Connor"

Trackback | Comments RSS Feed

Post a Comment